W. Floyd Allison History Award

This award is given annually to a history student at York Middle School. The award was established in 2004 by the Yorkville Historical Society to honor the memory of W. Floyd Allison, one of the founding members of the Yorkville Historical Society.   This award is given yearly to York Students and is based on academics, leadership, and character. It is a fitting way to honor the memory of someone who worked diligently to promote the City of York and its future while preserving the past.

Our winners:

Zack Alan McCarter, May 2004
Nathan Patrick, May 2006
Legrand Guerry IV, May 2007
H. Galt Alexander III, May 2008
Bradley A. Mitchell, April 2009
Jeremy Falls, May 2010
Mary Lyn Mitchell May 2011
Duncan Carr, May 2012
Robert Ashley, May 2012
Caroline Grose, May 2013
Logan Horton, May 2014
Destined Carter, May 2014
Andrea Phelps, May 2015
Katherine Spires, May 2015
Shelby Spencer, June 2016
Kyleigh Warlick, 2017
Haleigh Sanders, 2018
Madison Hogue, 2019
Claire Gilfillan, 2023
Haley Whitaker, 2024

About W. Floyd Allison:

William Floyd Allison, Jr. was a charter member of the Yorkville Historical Society and was instrumental in the formation of the society in 1978. He served on numerous committees and also the board of directors. He was a York native and graduated from York High School in 1941 and the Citadel in 1944. He was the owner of Allison Insurance Agency and was a ruling elder in the Presbyterian Church for approximately 25 years.   He was a member of several professional and community organizations, including the Jaycees, who in 2003 dedicated the W. Floyd Allison Memorial Park in York to his memory.